NOTICE OF REQUIREMENT FOR PARTICIPATION IN THE SOUTHERN BLACKLANDS ZONE BOLL WEEVIL ERADICATION PROGRAM

In accordance with the Texas Agriculture Code, Chapter 74, Subchapter D, §74.118 (Vernon Supp. 1999) and 4 Tex. Admin. Code §3.73, the Texas Boll Weevil Eradication Foundation hereby provides notice to growers in the Southern Blacklands Boll Weevil Eradication Zone that they are required to participate in the eradication program established by referendum for the Southern Blacklands Zone.

The Southern Blacklands Eradication Zone consists of all of Anderson, Brazos, Burleson, Freestone, Grimes, Harris, Houston, Leon, Liberty, Madison, Robertson, Walker, Camp, Wood, Upshur, Marion, Harrison, Gregg, Smith, Cherokee, Rusk, Panola, Shelby, Nacogdoches, San Augustine, Sabine, Angelina, Trinity, San Jacinto, Polk, Tyler, Jasper, Newton, Hardin, Orange, Jefferson, Chambers, Galveston, Washington, Montgomery, Coryell, Mills, Lampasas, San Saba, Llano, Gillespie, Kendall, Blanco, Burnet, Bell, Williamson, Travis, Hays, Comal, Guadalupe, Gonzales, Fayette, Caldwell, Bastrop, Lee, Milam and Falls Counties; that part of Limestone County south of Highway 84 from the McLennan County line east to the Freestone County line; that part of Waller County north of Highway 159 from the Austin County line north and east to Hempstead, then east on Highway 6/290 to the Harris County line; and that part of McLennan County south of Highway 84.

Participation includes: (1) timely reporting to the Foundation of information requested regarding acreage and location of all commercial cotton fields and of noncommercial patches of cotton grown for ornamental, research or other purposes, as provided in the Texas Agricultural Code, §74.121; (2) payment of the assessment established by referendum ending on March 29, 2000, in the amount and manner approved for the Southern Blacklands Zone, and (3) compliance with any rules or procedures established by the Texas Department of Agriculture or the Foundation for implementation of the eradication program in the Southern Blacklands Zone. Upon notification by the Foundation of a producer's failure to timely comply with participation requirements stated above, the Department may assess an administrative penalty in accordance with 4 Tex. Admin. Code §3.74 or take other appropriate remedial action as provided by Texas Agriculture Code, Chapter 74, Subchapter D. Any questions regarding the participation requirements may be directed to Texas Department of Agriculture, P.O. Box 12847, Austin, TX 78711, (512) 463-3285.



By Stephanie Sherrill at 1:48 pm, Dec 06 2024